Minority snub SoNA Debate


The Minority caucus refused to participate in the debate which commenced in Parliament today after Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister of Information and MP for Ofoase-Ayirebi, moved the motion on behalf of the House to thank the President for his address.

By convention, a member from the Minority caucus should have seconded the motion, but the Minority Chief Whip, Hon. Muntaka Mubarak told the House that the Minority caucus has decided as a matter of principle not to participate in the debate following their walkout from Parliament before the President, Nana Akufo-Addo delivered the address in Parliament. 

Hon. Muntaka Mubarak later in an interview with journalists said the action of the Minority is in protest against the bad governance of President Akufo Addo.

Speaking to journalists on the Minority’s decision not to participate in the debate, Hon. Mathew Nyindam, the MP for Kpandai and Deputy Majority Whip said the Minority members have disappointed their constituents and the whole nation by their decision of not participating in the debate on the SONA.

Members of Parliament (MPs) from the Minority side on Thursday boycotted the 2020 State of the Nation Address (SONA) by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Clad in black, the Minority MPs chanted the National Anthem as they walked out of the chamber shortly after President Akufo-Addo took his seat Thursday morning in the chamber.

“And help us to resist oppressors’ rule with all our will, and might forevermore,” they chanted as they walked out of the chamber.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) MPs last week announced that they would boycott the 2020 SONA if the government failed to release five percent of the District Assemblies’ Common Fund (DACF).

Source: Peace FM


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here