Know your newly elected regional football association chairmen


The road to choose substantive leaders for the Regional Football Associations as mandated by FIFA to the Normalization Committee, saw ten (10) Regional Football Association chairmen being elected on Friday, 18th October, 2019.

Five incumbents maintained their seats, with the following regions changing hands: Brong Ahafo, Greater Accra, Western, Volta and Northern Region.

Two regions : Central and Volta had one candidates and who won by popular acclamation.

Turn out at various centers were encouraging; as Ghana prepares for life after the then GFA administration headed by Lawyer Kwesi Nyantakyi, who is facing ban from football related activities by the world football governing body FIFA, after the famous Number 12 exposé by investigative journalist, Anas Aremyaw Anas and his Tiger Eye Pi group.

Below are the full list of the elected RFA chairpersons waiting to be ushered into office officially.

Greater Accra Region = Samuel Aboabire

Ashanti Region = Osei Tutu Agyemang

Eastern Region = Linford Asamoah

Western Region = Simon Ehomah

Central Region = Robert Duncan

Upper East Region= Salifu Zida

Upper West Region = Yahaya Sadugu

Brong Ahafo Region = Ralph Gyambra

Volta Region = Daniel Agbogah

Northern Region = Abu Alhassan.

The next batch of elections is slated for 25th October to elect the members of the Executive Council and the President to lead the Association.

Source: Ghana | Angelfmonlinegh | Ansah Apagya


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here