NPP primaries: Meet the Ministers and top Gov’t appointees seeking to be MPs


The ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) over the weekend held primaries in orphan constituencies to elect parliamentary aspirants.

Among the persons who offered themselves for elections were Municipal, Metropolitan and District Chief Executives (MMDCEs), Deputy Ministers and other top government appointees. chronicles the number of top government appointees and deputy Ministers who won their bids to seek to enter Parliament.

  1. Prof Kwesi Yankah

Professor Kwesi Yankah is an academic and professor of linguistics and oral literature. He was once the pro-Vice Chancellor of the University of Ghana and the President of the Central University of Ghana. He is currently the Minister of State in charge of Tertiary Education.

Professor Yankah contested and won the Agona East seat on the ticket of the ruling political party. He beat off competition from Senior Lecturer of GIMPA and an Economist, Dr Kennedy K. Abrokwa and Senior Official of the Ghana Tourism Authority, Mr Prince Yaw Essah. 570 delegates voted in the election which was held at Agona Mensakrom.

He polled 267 votes with his contenders, Dr Abrokwah obtaining 175 votes and Mr Essah polling 127 votes. One vote was rejected.

The Minister of State will be seeking to defeat Agona East MP, Queenster Pokua Sawyerr who has been a force to reckon with in the constituency. She won the 2016 primaries with 19,789 votes. Her closest contender who was also the NPP Parliamentary candidate polled 18,513. Prof Yankah will be hoping to close the 1,276 gap.

  • Hopeson Adorye

The vociferous communicator of the NPP won the Kpone Katamanso seat after beating off competition from William Asante, Prince Dadzie and David Annang. 

He polled 321 votes to beat competitors, William Asante – 203 votes and Prince Dadzie – 56 and David Annang – 46.

The man who is married to popular gospel musician, Gifty Adorye will be hoping to unseat former Greater Accra Regional Minister, Nii Laryea Afotey-Agbo who has been the MP for the constituency for years now.

In the 2016 elections, Afotey-Agbo polled 30,541 representing 51.37% to beat Solomon Tettey Appiah who contested on the ticket of the NPP. Solomon polled 27,001 votes representing 45.42%. Thus, Hopeson Adorye will be hoping to close the 3,540 vote gap.

  • Dr Muhammad Amin Antah

The Deputy Energy Minister emerged the winner of the NPP primaries in the Karaga Constituency. He polled 385 votes, representing 82 percent of the total votes cast to beat Baba Sayuti who had 78 votes while his other opponents Alhassan Abdulai and Sulemana Ibn Saeed had four and two votes respectively.

The Deputy Minister prior to becoming an appointee of government was with the African Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP). The Deputy Minister will be hoping to unseat the NDC MP for the area, Alhassan Sualihu Dandaawa who polled 15,820 votes to beat the NPP candidate, Sulemana Ibn Saeed who managed 10,798.

  • Samuel Abdulai Jinapor

The Deputy Chief of Staff, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor emerged the winner of the Damongo primaries held over the weekend. He contested unopposed and will be hoping to unseat the NDC Member of Parliament (MP) for the area, Adam Mutawakilu. Hon Mutawakilu polled 10,263 votes to beat the main contender, Albert Kassim Diwura who could only manage 8,139 votes.

Samuel Jinapor is also a former aide of the President, Nana Akufo-Addo.

  • Mustapha Ussif

Mustapha Ussif who is the Chief Executive of the National Service Secretariat (NSS) will be hoping to recapture the Yagaba Kubore seat which he won in the 2012 elections. He lost the elections to Abdul-Rauf Tanko Ibrahim of the NDC who polled 10,990 as against Mustaoha Ussif’s 8,294 votes. In 2012, the NSS Boss managed 8,123 to beat Abdul-Rauf Tanko who polled 7,175 votes.

  • Dr. Ibrahim Anyars

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Nation Builders’ Corps (NABCo), Dr. Ibrahim Anyars, won the primaries with 539 votes in the Tamale Central Constituency. His contender, Abass Zakaria, garnered 172 votes.  He will be contesting the NDC Parliament candidate, Murtala Muhammed in 2020. Murtala Muhammad was once the NDC MP for Nanton.

Source: Ghana | | KWAKU NTI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here